Make a big difference to The Big Idea.

Help us tell the most creative stories.

Become a supporter

2023 Commonwealth Short Story Prize Now Open for Entries !

2023 Commonwealth Short Story Prize Now Open for Entries !

Job details

Commonwealth Foundation
1 Nov 2022
Overseas, National
Work type
Awards, grants & residencies, Call for entries
Work classification
Literature & Publishing


The Commonwealth Short Story Prize is accepting entries until 1 November 2022. The competition is administered by the Commonwealth Foundation.

The prize is free to enter and open to any citizen of a Commonwealth country who is aged 18 and over.  It is awarded for the best piece of unpublished short fiction (2,000–5,000 words). Regional winners each receive £2,500 and the opportunity to be published online by Granta magazine, and the overall winner receives £5,000.

The prize has a growing reputation for discovering and elevating new talent and offers equal opportunity to unpublished writers to make their voices heard alongside more established practitioners.  

As well as English, stories are accepted in the Bengali, Chinese, Creole, French, Greek, Kiswahili, Malay, Portuguese, Samoan, Tamil and Turkish languages. Translated entries from any language into English are also eligible. If the winning story is a translation, the translator receives additional prize money.

The prize is judged by a panel of judges based in the five regions of the Commonwealth. The judge representing the Pacific region is Selina Tusitala Marsh. View the panel of judges here.

Please check here for answers to frequently asked questions.

How to apply

All submissions should be made via the online entry form on Please click below for the eligibibility and entry guidelines, and link to the entry form.


Submit here

Written by

Commonwealth Writers

2 Sep 2022

Commonwealth Writers is the cultural initiative of the Commonwealth Foundation. We inspire and connect writers and storytellers across the world, bringing personal stories to a global audience.